top of page
  • Writer's pictureTyler Nicholson Groves

Week 4: "B is for Book" and a Hymn


My process for figuring out the Solfège to the bassline was easy due to its melodic structure; just by listening to it, I could tell that it was a scalar pattern that always ended in Sol. The first part of it went from Do to Sol, and the second part of it went from Re to Sol; essentially, it was outlining a tonic–dominant pattern: I–V. I also heard the guitar chords outlining that structure, which helped me verify what I was hearing. As a result, I didn't need to think about the Solfège or pitches critically — I just went up and down the major scale. As seen in the video, I took a more involved process to figure out the chords in the bridge because it required the comprehension of all parts of the ensemble — not just a single bassline. Overall, I listened to the voices (e.g., bass, trumpet) and sung the chord until I was able to match Solfège to it. Having perfect pitch also helped me verify this. However, I did find it difficult to hear the upper voices at the fourth chord of the bridge, inhibiting my ability to be 100% sure about what chord it was. However, my reasoning skills with respect to what chords would make sense knowing the bassline helped a lot. I believe my ability to hear each individual note to construct the chord will improve as I do more of these exercises!

As seen in the video, I identified the chordal and scalar patterns within the piece to figure out the Solfège syllables. Specifically, I heard that the melody jumped around a lot, allowing me to verify that my syllables would usually not follow some sort of scalar pattern. Finding the notes that each phrase started on helped anchor myself; instead of thinking about all of the notes in the phrase, I figured out the first syllable and figured out the subsequent ones while singing. Identifying the cadence points (e.g., half cadence) also gave me a good idea of what notes would end those phrases. For instance, in the first phrase, I heard a half cadence (Sol chord), indicating that my options for notes were Sol, Ti, and Re. But, since I heard the note as being beside the tonic, I was certain it was Re.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page